Nuance and Nuisance. Words and Sentences to Avoid

Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.

According to Jean Piaget, through assimilation, we take in new information or experiences and incorporate them into our existing ideas. We learn new things everyday and it is up to us to digest and utilize them to our advantage or to advance.

Today, I had the chance to meet finally in person an amiable individual who has been in the mortgage industry for more than thirty years. Indubitably, he has seen the boon and bane in the real estate business. Exchanging business ideas and spur of the moment topics with this individual likened a conversation one would only engage in with familiar faces and close friends.

Suddenly, I found a mentor who bequeathed me the RED FLAGS I should be wary of in conversing with people—especially with prospective clients

Nuance and Nuisance Words and Sentences:

TRY –  I can’t agree more. If I were your client and if you tell me that you will “Try” to find me the right home, the tinge of uncertainty oozes like a red     corpuscle from a tiny scratch. This word becomes a big RED FLAG to the client. Rather than saying “I will TRY,” assert reassurance by saying “I        WILL find you the right home.

To be honest with you – I could not remember how many times I uttered these sentences during the course of our conversation. And as soon as i       finished blurting them out, he opened his palm to signify stop signal. Consciously, after several sentences mishaps, I got the message. These           words, albeit innocuous connotation, do not convey truthfulness and honesty. I could argue about it because I was speaking from my heart and       with transparency. However, I am not conversing with myself. I am communicating with another person or other people. Therefore, what I think           does not matter. “Watch your thoughts, they become your words.” In this case, the words we say may trigger negative thoughts to others.

You know what I mean? –  Do I look like an imbecile not to know what you mean? You don’t need to repeat these words several times                           emphatically. I get it, okay?

You know something?   – Not only do I know something. I know other things. Do I have to say more?

 

Most of the time, we speak without thinking. There are times when we can spit out either venom-like or music-to-my-ears words. 

So think first before you speak. Don’t forget that our character is resonated by the words we choose to say.

To Joe–not the Plumber–thank you for the first two RED FLAGS you pointed out. The last two are my pet peeves.

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Maria Gilda Racelis

I am a full-time realtor and a no-nonsense individual when it comes to rendering services to my clients. I take my job and the responsibility it entails seriously. My clients come first. I ensure that they know and feel I am working for their best interest. However, I do not carry out tasks to compromise my principle. I conduct my business with pride, honesty and integrity. I will do whatever it takes to meet their goals while adhering to my principle. "And the connection I make with the clients throughout the process, that to me is how I define success." Buying and selling homes can be very stressful. It is my job to make the process easy and fun as can possibly be for my clients. I take personal gratification from the smile on the faces of highly satisfied clients. I have amassed 100% positive and rewarding testimonials from my clients after many years of experience in real estate business. To enhance competency in the field for my clients' benefit, I continually seek to further my knowledge and expertise. With this in mind, I hold the following designations and expect to add more as the need for them arise. If you are looking to work with a competent professional realtor who will put the best foot forward for your best interest, you have just read her profile. I am always available to listen to your concerns and questions. Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.
This entry was posted in Life as We Live It. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

