You can Attract More Bees with Honey than Vinegar

In real estate, there are instances when diplomatic gestures work more effectively than aggressiveness. I learned to apply this idiom even in the most trying personal experience.

Scene Example:

Being the only parent of my children, I have the tendency to become overprotective because it is only “me” they got.

After a week at PS 101, Queens, NY, my son who was just transplanted from the Philippines for barely a month, was watching tv when I came home. His five-year old sweet and loving face looked at me with a smile but as a mother, I knew something was bothering him. He was bullied by a kid in school.

I called my doctor employer that night and told her that I would be late to handle domestic problem. That morning, I accompanied my son and his septuagenarian sitter on their way to school.

Once we got there, I told my son to whisper to me who the boy was by pointing his finger in a discreet manner. He reluctantly pointed his finger to a taller and bigger black kid ( no discrimination intended-just laying out the fact).

I approached the kid with my most friendly smile and handed my hand over to shake his. “Hello, young man. I am the mother of that child, pointing to Chad who stood like an angel by the school’s fence. He is a very nice kid, you know and I think you, yourself are quite nice too. Do you mind watching out for him–for me? I think both of you will get along well. Can I count on that?

His eyes stared at me–his attention focused. Then his lips parted to show his white teeth while forming a big smile. I extended my hand back to shake his hand and asked him to come with me so I can introduce him to my son.

I ushered him to where my son was standing. They shook hands and from that day on, he became Chad’s best friend.

I was not sure what approach I would use but my mission was clear and steadfast. To stop the child from bullying my son. I utilized the friendlier and civil tactic.

 And it worked. 

In our profession, bullies abound too. We heard about different people, different strokes. True. But  generally, we can always attract bees with honey than vinegar.



About Maria Gilda Racelis

I am a full-time realtor and a no-nonsense individual when it comes to rendering services to my clients. I take my job and the responsibility it entails seriously. My clients come first. I ensure that they know and feel I am working for their best interest. However, I do not carry out tasks to compromise my principle. I conduct my business with pride, honesty and integrity. I will do whatever it takes to meet their goals while adhering to my principle. "And the connection I make with the clients throughout the process, that to me is how I define success." Buying and selling homes can be very stressful. It is my job to make the process easy and fun as can possibly be for my clients. I take personal gratification from the smile on the faces of highly satisfied clients. I have amassed 100% positive and rewarding testimonials from my clients after many years of experience in real estate business. To enhance competency in the field for my clients' benefit, I continually seek to further my knowledge and expertise. With this in mind, I hold the following designations and expect to add more as the need for them arise. If you are looking to work with a competent professional realtor who will put the best foot forward for your best interest, you have just read her profile. I am always available to listen to your concerns and questions. Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.
This entry was posted in Real Estate. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

