Diamond Success of Manchester Road Race – Manchester CT, 06040

Manchester Road Race marks its 75th year run on Thanksgiving Day, September 24, 2011. Fifteen thousand runners from all over the worldwill grace the diamond success of the event. Sally Kipyego, who was born in Kenya and the women’s champion at last year’s Manchester Road Race, will run again to defend her title. Joining in to celebrate are major sponsors Macy’s, First Niagara Bank, ECHN, Pratt & Whitney, Cox Communications, Cigna, Henkel and Stop & Shop.

According to the MMR President Tris Carta , “Our sponsors are a vital part of the Manchester Road Race. They allow us to present a world-class international event that offers family fun at a very affordable price, and help us raise significant funds for distribution to some very worthy non-profit causes.”

The 4.748-mile race starts at 10 a.m. on Main Street and finishes on Main Street, in front of St. James Church. To chronicle the MMR achievement a 176-page full-color publication entitled “The Manchester Road Race: A Seventy-Five Year Celebration”, co-authored by race archivist Rick Dyer, retired Hartford Courant photographer John Long, and Jerry O’Connor, editor and publisher for Annual MMR celebration, is now up for grabs for $29. 

“This is much more than just a history of the road race,” said O’Connor, who is also a member of the race’s development committee.  “We believe that the photos and text also capture the fun, excitement, spectacle and spirit of Connecticut’s largest sporting event.”

The MMR 75 years of running will kick off with “Spirit of Freedom” hovering over the sky. “The huge cargo plane, known as the “Spirit of Freedom,” was one of 330 Skymasters that the United States sent to supply Berlin when the Soviet Union attempted to blockade the divided city after World War II.  Manchester Road Race officials have arranged with the Berlin Airlift Historical Foundation, which now owns the “Spirit of Freedom,” to have the C-54E kick off the festivities with a fly over at 9:54 a.m. on Thanksgiving Day, just after the National Anthem is played, and prior to the road race’s 10 a.m. start.”

 

About Maria Gilda Racelis

I am a full-time realtor and a no-nonsense individual when it comes to rendering services to my clients. I take my job and the responsibility it entails seriously. My clients come first. I ensure that they know and feel I am working for their best interest. However, I do not carry out tasks to compromise my principle. I conduct my business with pride, honesty and integrity. I will do whatever it takes to meet their goals while adhering to my principle. "And the connection I make with the clients throughout the process, that to me is how I define success." Buying and selling homes can be very stressful. It is my job to make the process easy and fun as can possibly be for my clients. I take personal gratification from the smile on the faces of highly satisfied clients. I have amassed 100% positive and rewarding testimonials from my clients after many years of experience in real estate business. To enhance competency in the field for my clients' benefit, I continually seek to further my knowledge and expertise. With this in mind, I hold the following designations and expect to add more as the need for them arise. If you are looking to work with a competent professional realtor who will put the best foot forward for your best interest, you have just read her profile. I am always available to listen to your concerns and questions. Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diamond Success of Manchester Road Race – Manchester CT, 06040

  1. jeff1212 says:

    Great Blog on a very fun event in Manchester, very infomative

    Jeff

Leave a Reply

